Review: My Swordhand Is Singing


Title: My Swordhand Is Singing
Author: Marcus Sedgwick
Publication: 2007 by Wendy Lamb Books
Format: Hardcover

Book Synopsis

WHEN TOMAS AND HIS SON, Peter, settle in Chust as woodcutters, Tomas digs a channel of fast-flowing waters around their hut, so they have their own little island kingdom. Peter doesn’t understand why his father has done this, nor why his father carries a long, battered box, whose mysterious contents he is forbidden to know. But Tomas is a man with a past: a past that is tracking him with deadly intent, and when the dead of Chust begin to rise from their graves, both father and son must face a soulless enemy and a terrifying destiny.

What I Thought About It . . .
With so much vampire fiction flooding the market nowadays, it is difficult to discover something enjoyable to read if you don’t fancy a story with romantic notions regarding the undead. This makes discovering something like Marcus Sedgwick’s novel a treat because we have vampires that are based upon folklore and not Hollywood fantasies.

The prose is simple and straightforward. I think this will appeal to many, but personally I would have liked more descriptions. Still that is just how I am because I like to feel the setting of a place in great detail. Much is left to the reader’s imagination, but I suppose I need to remember what audience this book is written for so I cannot fault it on that point since it is my own likings that require this of books.

The terror starts swiftly in the opening chapter with a gruesome death and then builds up again as Peter realizes the horror around him is not merely peasant superstitions. I do enjoy how the author has drawn on the traditional folklore that surrounded these creatures for centuries. And they are wonderful predators instead of misunderstood romantics!

MY RATING

One thought on “Review: My Swordhand Is Singing

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

