Cover Crazy (1)

Cover Crazy is a weekly meme hosted by Tawni at The Book Worms where a beautiful cover is featured each week for all of us to admire.

One thing you need to know about me is that I am an adamant fan of author Robert Bloch. I would probably become one of those embarrassing fangirls if he were still alive and hosting a book signing. Horror is a genre that is dear to my heart despite what people might glean from my reading records. Bloch may be better known for his classic novel Psycho, but his true skills were with the short story craft. Which often branched into the realms of science fiction and fantasy as well as horror.

I love werewolves. Although I don’t entirely agree with an assessment in a book I found on the library shelves that stated their symbolism represented power and rape. If anything vampires represent the primal rape scene in literature, as I believe it was Stephen King pointed out. But anyway. Werewolves on a cover drew my attraction. But also the moon on the cover because it looks pretty. These werewolves are anything but cuddly creatures. They look like they’d sooner rip you to pieces than attempt to compromise your virtue. My kind of nightmare creatures! I suppose it would take someone odd like me to find beauty in such a sinister setup. It seems like it has a kind of ethereal quality with the color scheme as well. It’s difficult to do anything but drool over this cover . . .

The cover, the title, and, of course, the author were all elements that conspired together to make me desire this book for my collection. Like all books containing short stories there are good tales and not so good tales. My particular copy has that plastic covering over the dust jacket that affords an additional layer of protection for such a pretty cover!

2 thoughts on “Cover Crazy (1)

  1. “They look like they’d sooner rip you to pieces than attempt to compromise your virtue.”

    LOL! So true. These are old school werewolves for sure. I love the one gnawing on the bone.

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

