Waiting On Wednesday (2)


“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

From Borders.com:

In this exciting second installment of the three-book series, Carter and Sadie, offspring of the brilliant Egyptologist Dr. Julius Kane, embark on a worldwide search for the Book of Ra, but the House of Life and the gods of chaos are determined to stop them.

Like a lot of other people I went to my local library and picked up the entire Percy Jackson and the Olympians series after seeing the movie The Lightning Thief. I enjoyed the movie, but after reading the first book I wasn’t sure which version of the story I liked better… I liked bits from each. Although I felt it was predictable (and I really didn’t like the ending), I did like the series. I didn’t love it. I have no desire to own those books. I’m perfectly fine with checking them out from the library if I ever feel the need to read them again.

Yet can you imagine my reaction when I heard about the release of the Kane Chronicles? Egyptian mythological figures in modern times? *SQUEE!!!* I told myself that I would just check the first book out from the library. Still when The Red Pyramid came out on the store shelves, my boyfriend, who knows of my obsession with all things relating to Ancient Egypt and is convinced it stems from my exposure to Mumm-Ra in Thundercats from a young age, took pity on my desperate restraint to not purchase it and just bought the book for me. But unlike a lot of books it failed to languish on the shelves for long and I had it finished in a couple of days. I didn’t like everything about it, but it was a lot of fun to read. And I liked it a lot better than the Percy Jackson books. But again, I am biased.

So when I received an email from Borders announcing the pre-order availability for the new Rick Riordan book, I did a little flailing to see that it was the next book in the Kane Chronicles. I think that I might just pre-order that book. I don’t do this option a lot for books and I think it’s because I am so bogged down with unread titles. Still why not? It will give me an excuse to visit an independent bookshop that I like going to.

This is only a three-book series? Are you serious? I lament.

However, I will state that the portrayal of Bast is much better in Michael Scott’s Nicholas Flamel series. That is all.

2 thoughts on “Waiting On Wednesday (2)

  1. I love the cover of this! I still have to read the Percy Jackson books, but I already feel like this is an author I will love. Ancient Egypt is pretty much an automatic “YES PLEASE!” from me 🙂

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

