Book Blogger Hop (1)

Book Blogger Hop Book Blogger Hop is a weekly meme hosted by Crazy-for-Books where book bloggers answer the weekly question and hop around to other blogs and see what other bloggers have to say. The goal is to discover new blogs, “connect with other book lovers, make new friends, support each other, and generally just share our love of books!”

This week’s question is:

“What book(s) would you like to see turned into a movie?”

I am not usually the type of person to lament when I hear about a favorite book of mine being turned into a film. Some movies I have found to be superior to their printed source material. Is that considered blasphemy? Well, I care not if that somehow makes me less of a book snob. I love books, but I also love movies so some form of balance must be struck. For all the bad movies out there that have been adapted from books, there’s also some pretty good examples.

So to answer this week’s question I would positively love to see J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Silmarillion adapted to film. Yet it does cover a great deal of time so the most appropriate format would be a series of films in order to give it the justice that it deserves. It could be like the Richard Sharpe series. (To be honest I fancy the movies over the few books I’ve read, but I suppose the Sean Bean eye candy didn’t hurt either.) Silmarillion is a book that I’ve come to adore more with each reading and there’s just so much going on that multiple readings are necessary for me to keep up with it all.

Who wouldn’t want to know the epic beginnings of Middle-earth? How the world was created from song and beings who loved the idea of Arda so much that they would bind themselves to it and be known as the Powers of the World? The tribulations under the shadow of the first dark lord known as Morgoth? The war for the Silmaril jewels? The quest of Beren and Lúthien to reclaim a jewel from the Dark Lord’s crown? The curse of the children of Húrin? The final battle against Morgoth to liberate Arda from his oppression? The rise of Sauron and the destruction of Numenor?

Yet I will admit that this book can be a dense volume and it reads more like a history, and a Bible in a sense, than Tolkien’s other works. While it possesses several great tales, I think that a lot of readers may find it difficult to get through. But I think with the right team behind it, it could be a fantastic film series. I don’t think I’d like to see Peter Jackson direct this time, but he could produce. I would support the idea of Guillermo del Toro behind the helm as director. (I am still lamenting that he is no longer part of The Hobbit project.)

Yes, there are no hobbits present, but I think that I shall be able to survive it.

And I also want to add that it would be a breath of fresh air if there could be an adaptation of Alexandre Dumas’ The Count of Monte Cristo that actually did justice to the character of Haydee. Just a thought but you might receive a film that actually has the same ending as the book.

2 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop (1)

  1. I would love a film series for this book. I don’t know if I could get through the book, but I really want to know the stories. I think a film adaptation could be wonderful, especially in the right hands.

    Guillermo del Toro isn’t attached to The Hobbit anymore?? Oh, that is sad 😦 I love his visuals.

    • The friend who gave me my copy of the book couldn’t get through it. Yet I took my time and loved every moment of it.

      I was looking forward to what he could do with Tolkien’s work. The news was released… oh a few months ago, I believe. I think it was due to the slowness of the project to get off the ground, or something along those lines.

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

