Waiting On Wednesday (6)

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

YES YES YES YES!!!!!!!!!

I believe that I had very nearly given up on any good vampire books ever being written again when I came across The Strain. There was an interview with Guillermo del Toro on the Craig Ferguson show on YouTube and I was laughing out loud during the entire thing. Yes, I would have to give this trilogy a try.

And I loved it! The novel was so hard to put down. These were vampires how I want to see them, as deadly predators that would sooner eat you than want to have sex with you. (That’s where my little button on the sidebar comes from.) I possess a guilty pleasure or two for romantic vampires, but at heart this is how I like to see them. These are not sexy corpses trying to seduce everyone in sight. Rather than traditional fangs, these creatures possess a stinger under the tongue that transmits the blood worms that are always crawling underneath the skin.

The Fall doesn’t even stop for breath as the epic saga of the vampire apocalypse continues.

I intend to reread the first two books in preparation for the trilogy’s conclusion. I will be getting them from the library, and with the expected high amount of requests there should be plenty of time for me to visit The Strain and The Fall again before the queue for The Night Eternal gets to me.

You know, it occurs to me that most of my Waiting On Wednesday posts so far involve books about vampires.


AMAZON RELEASE DATE: OCTOBER 25

One thought on “Waiting On Wednesday (6)

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

