Review: The Time Machine


Title: The Time Machine
Author: H.G. Wells
Publication: Project Gutenberg
Format: E-book

Book Synopsis

The story that launched Wells’s successful career-the classic tale of the Time Traveler and the extraordinary world he discovers in the far distant future. A haunting portrayal of Darwin’s evolutionary theory carried to a terrible conclusion.

What I Thought About It . . .

This is my first time reading The Time Machine and I’ve never seen the classic film version either. However, I have seen the remake and own it on DVD. It might differ a great deal, but it’s fun to watch. And it has Jeremy Irons as the Uber Morlock . . . which is a nice perk.

Anyway this story comes off as a somewhat delightful surprise. It is quite a short narrative, but engaging to see what time travel would be like. What will our world look like in the future? Will we even recognize it? Will we recognize ourselves? My first experience with Wells’s vision of what our future would be like was given to me by that episode of Wishbone, so I’ve had a general impression of what the book would be like for a long time.

Yet actually reading it will always prove to be something quite different from what you expect. There isn’t really a whole lot of action going on in this tale. Of course, it is a small volume so Mr. Wells obviously did not have that in mind. It’s an exercise in seeing what might become of us as a species once we achieve that ultimate goal of convenience and cease to represent all that has made us human. I like Wells’s message. Although naturally any future where books are neglected and left to dust represents a horrifying scenario in my opinion! I couldn’t see myself frolicking in the sun either even for short durations. I would be consigned to the darkness of a Morlock existence. I keep picturing Gollum . . . but with more hair.

So overall I liked the philosophy in this book, but I didn’t really much care for the rest of it. Still if you’ve read my blog for any length of time, you know that I fancy a bit more meat to my stories. With this lovely framework, a lot more could have been written!

And I feel that this animated gif from the television series The Big Bang Theory is oh so appropriate, don’t you agree?


MY RATING

One thought on “Review: The Time Machine

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

