Our Fate as Trees


I have a confession to make and that is the fact that I have an account at Gaia Online.

Most of the thread discussions at Gaia Online are inane and I am hard pressed to discover good topics to engage. Like most threads there you have to wade through a lot of undesirables in the Books subforum too. However, I came across an interesting question posted during my browsing this afternoon.

If you were a tree, what book would you want to become?

The Silmarillion

I would even settle for The Lord of the Rings or The Hobbit. Mostly my heart is set on The Silmarillion though! It’s one of those books that I could go into overdrive fangirl mode about for hours! It’s funny how I never expected to adore this book as much as I do. It was kind of something I felt like I should read to have a deeper understanding of Middle-earth. But isn’t it true that one falls head over heels in love when you least expect it?

And what book would crush your soul if you became?

It would be a grievous blow to be processed for poorly written or overrated books all around, but especially The-Series-That-Must-Not-Be-Named. Nosferatu do not sparkle.

So what about you, dear readers? What would your choices be to end your existence as trees in the name of books?

* * * Elwing art belongs to LadyElleth @ DeviantArt

3 thoughts on “Our Fate as Trees

  1. Your second answer made me laugh out loud. I have a feeling that’s how I’ll be referring to that series from now on. Not quite such which book I’d like to be, but I definitely DO NOT want to end up as silly Harlequin-type romance!

  2. I’d probably want to become a copy of The Complete Sherlock Holmes, since I’d never go out of style and would always be loved. I would hate, hate. hate to become a copy of Eragon. Twilight’s (only) saving grace was that it accurately depicts the stupidity of high school love, but Eragon was BAD.

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

