Review: Grave Secret


TITLE: Grave Secret (Harper Connolly #4)
AUTHOR: Charlaine Harris
PUBLICATION: 2009 by Recorded Books
FORMAT: Audiobook (narrated by Alyssa Bresnahan)

BOOK SYNOPSIS

Lightning-struck sleuth Harper Connelly and her stepbrother Tolliver take a break from looking for the dead to visit the two little girls they both think of as sisters. But, as always happens when they travel to Texas, memories of their horrible childhood resurface.

To make matters worse, Tolliver learns from his older brother that their father is out of jail and trying to reestablish contact with other family members. Tolliver wants no part of the man- but he may not have a choice in the matter.

Soon, family secrets ensnare them both, as Harper finally discovers what happened to her missing sister, Cameron, so many years before.

And what she finds out will change her world forever.

WHAT I THOUGHT ABOUT IT . . .

Now that I have a somewhat long commute to work each day again, I’ve been feeling the urge to immerse myself in audiobooks again. Still I was kind of at a loss about what books I might be interested in for searching my library, but I ended up hunting books according to narrator. I remember enjoying Alyssa Bresnahan when I listened to her read Blood and Chocolate a few years ago so I thought I’d see what other books she narrated. This looked interesting due to the lack of vampires or werewolves. I’ve not read anything by the author except for an attempt at a short story in one of those urban fantasy anthologies, but I was bored by it.

I didn’t really do any research to see if this book was part of a series, but as it played I got the feeling it was and I was right upon closer research. Still for someone whom had never read the first three books, I didn’t feel that lost in the narrative. There wasn’t anything particularly great about the prose beyond the general readability of it. I failed to perceive any profound love for Harris’s writing, her characters, or her plot. I wondered sometimes if it was an exercise to see how screwed up the family could become.

The one thing that I did really like about the book, and the reason that I decided to check it out in the first place, was Harper’s special talent. I think it would be interesting to have the ability to locate corpses as she does. Yet it also brings to mind a line from one of the Exorcist movies: “I think the dead should shut up unless there’s something to say.”

Some of the big plot twists seemed a bit obvious and my reckoning of the baby’s father was spot on. Others were interesting, such as the true fate of Harper’s sister Cameron.

Alyssa Bresnahan is one of the better narrators that I’ve come across in my adventures with audiobooks. She doesn’t alter her voice as much as other readers I fancy, but she does enough that you can tell who’s speaking most of the time. This production was also nice because it announced the beginning and end of each disc. I can’t tell you how much I love that in an audiobook.

Would I wish to read the previous books at a later date? Probably not. Although I suppose if you’re a fan of Harris, you’d probably want to read another of her books. It wasn’t a bad way to spend a week in the car at any rate.

MY RATING

One thought on “Review: Grave Secret

  1. I’ve been listening to the Sookie Stackhouse novels by Harris on my commute to work and they are perfect to pass the time as they don’t take themselves too seriously. I’ll have to look and see if it’s the same narrator as this one …

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

