Review: M is for Magic


TITLE: M Is for Magic
AUTHOR: Neil Gaiman
PUBLICATION: 2007 by HarperCollins
FORMAT: Hardcover

BOOK SYNOPSIS

Stories to delight, enchant, and surprise you.

Bestselling author and master storyteller Neil Gaiman here presents a breathtaking collection of tales that may chill or amuse readers—but always embrace the unexpected. Collection includes:

“The Case of the Four and Twenty Blackbirds,” “Troll Bridge,” “Don’t Ask Jack,” “How to Sell the Ponti Bridge,” “October in the Chair,” “Chivalry,” “The Price,” “How to Talk to Girls at Parties,” “Sunbird,” “The Witch’s Headstone,” “Instructions”

WHAT I THOUGHT ABOUT IT . . .

I seen this book on the shelf for a long time at a little bookshop I like to visit. The only other book I’ve read by Gaiman is The Graveyard Book, which seems funny considering that I follow the man’s blog but he writes some good stuff. However, when I went to pick up a book that I had the owner special order for me, I decided to give in to this title especially since it was marked down and I’m a sucker for anything with a cat on the cover.

To be honest there isn’t any story that I really dislike in this collection. The only stories that I feel somewhat indifferent to was “How to Sell the Ponti Bridge” and “Sunbird” and when you find a book where you like or really like all but one or two stories? That doesn’t happen often, I would imagine. It’s hard to describe why I like Gaiman’s writings in this collection. At times he made me laugh by the absurd sounding perfectly reasonable. At other instances I enjoyed how the suspense was building.

Some of these stories were quite delightful. Such as the one about the old lady who found the Holy Grail in a charity shop. Others are suspenseful, such as the one of the cat who wages a nightly battle against the Devil to protect its adopted family. Overall it seemed an appropriate selection to be reading around Halloween. I think it would be a nice place to start for anyone who seeks to try some Gaiman, but not ready to commit to a full length novel. As I’ve said on this blog before, short stories are wonderful.

MY RATING

One thought on “Review: M is for Magic

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

