Review: The Son of Neptune


TITLE: The Son of Neptune (The Heroes of Olympus #2)
AUTHOR: Rick Riordan
PUBLICATION: 2011 by Random House, Inc.
FORMAT: Audiobook (read by Joshua Swanson)

BOOK SYNOPSIS

In The Lost Hero, three demigods named Jason, Piper, and Leo made their first visit to Camp Half-Blood, where they inherited a quest:

Seven half-bloods shall answer the call,
To storm or fire the world must fall.
An oath to keep with a final breath,
And foes bear arms to the Doors of Death.

Who are the other four mentioned in the prophecy? The answer may lie in another camp miles away, where a new camper has shown up and appears to be the son of Neptune, god of the sea…

WHAT I THOUGHT ABOUT IT . . .

If my review of The Lost Hero didn’t convince you that I was excited for this book, let me repeat it: I COULD NOT WAIT TO READ THIS BOOK! I didn’t have to wait too long for the audiobook to get to my hold on it at the library either. I was particularly hoping that the audiobook would be narrated by Joshua Swanson again and I wasn’t disappointed.

I want to go to Camp Jupiter! The camp/city for the Roman demi-gods sounds a whole lot more exciting to me than Camp Half Blood. Except for the prospect of satyrs becoming begging bums, everything seems better.

As far as characters go I will say again that I like this form of narration where you get the perspectives of everyone without resorting to first-person bias. I say this and the irony is that some of my favorite books are told in first person… Anyway there is one thing I would like to point out and that is the fact that I liked Percy Jackson better in this book than the series revolving around him. Odd? Probably not. I’ve noticed that one of the aspects of Riordan’s writing is that he throws in comical lines and makes dire prospects a bit lighter with humor and hope. I laughed quite a bit listening to this book. Impossible quests can be done with the help of your friends. I confess that I like books like this and Harry Potter.

Tyson shows up in this book! I confess that I adore Tyson in all truth. He was my favorite character amidst all those you meet in the five Percy Jackson books. And I really liked the harpy we meet in this book, Ella. Seriously a harpy who loves books? What’s not to love?!

The only character that I didn’t like, although on a level that I found him kind of annoying was Frank. I’m not sure precisely why he bothers me, but this character I just wasn’t clicking with even though his family’s talent was something I would love to have.

I am quite pleased that the narrator for The Lost Hero returned to do this one. I enjoy listening to Swanson narrate this tale of a quest from the Roman demi-gods’ camp. I should really look to see if he reads anything else.

So if you liked The Lost Hero, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed with this installment of Riordan’s new series. I look forward to seeing what adventures await our heroes now that the Greek warship has arrived at Camp Jupiter.

MY RATING

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

