Unread Authors

I suppose we all have those authors that it seems like everyone has read, or raves about their works, and yet we remain the unenlightened to their talents.

C. S. Lewis remains for me one of those authors whom I have never read anything they wrote. Most might gasp, “You read Tolkien, but you’ve never read anything by his Inkling friend?!” That’s true. I haven’t even read that most famous of books The Chronicles of Narnia. Not even the film adaptations have inspired me to pick the series up and usually the idea of a movie is enough. I’ve read books I’ve never even heard of just because a film was slated for release.

However, Till We Have Faces is something I would like to read on its own merit and not because of who wrote it. I like mythology so a retelling appeals to me. I have been unable to get this book through the public library, but I was browsing at a big chain bookstore last month while killing time with a friend before going to see the movie Machine Gun Preacher when I discovered it on the shelves. My TBR pile didn’t need any more siblings yet it was hard to pass up not adding something I’ve been wanting and unable to acquire without purchasing for my own collection. Most of the challenges I signed up for in the year 2012 involve attacking the TBR pile so I definitely intent to read Lewis in the upcoming year and correct this unfamiliarity.

Who are some authors that you feel like you should have read? Will you be giving their books a try in the future?

9 thoughts on “Unread Authors

  1. I’ve never read any Agatha Christie. Or Arthur Conan Doyle. I’ve only been reading mysteries for a couple of years, but really! I need to get on this. Definitely will be reading some of their stories and novels very soon.

    And speaking of Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings is one of my favorite books ever, but I really don’t consider myself a fantasy fan. Weird.

    I hope you enjoy your C.S. Lewis.

    • Oh, Agatha Cristie is another one that I haven’t read. However, I adore Doyle. Yes, you need to get on that ASAP! 🙂

      I love Tolkien’s writings, but I don’t really think of myself as a fantasy fan either. I prefer to view it as a fan of literature that contains fantastic elements. . . that sounds more to my liking.

  2. To be honest, I’ve read the whole of the Chronicles of Narnia and in my opinion you aren’t missing out on much. The religious allegory and symbolism is VERY heavy in the later books, and I really didn’t like the ending. The one you have picked out sounds better though.

    I haven’t ready any F. Scott Fitzgerald, I really should.

  3. I’ve read the first…three? books in the Narnia series, and I don’t think you’re missing much. They are very “young” in tone and the writing felt very flat to me.

    I haven’t read Tamora Pierce yet and I REALLY need to fix that. Hopefully in 2012!

  4. I was very unimpressed by the Narnia books when I tried to read them but, then again, I’m not a Tolkein fan either, so that might suggest Lewis is right up your alley 😉

    I’ve not read any George Elliot, which I feel very guilty about. Her sentences are just so LONG and daunting, though!

    • I tried reading The Mill on the Floss and just could not get past chapter six or seven before giving up in frustration. I don’t think that Elliot is for me.

  5. I’m a little embarrassed to admit this, because I’m a big fan of vintage hardboiled crime fiction. But I’ve never read any Raymond Chandler. Which is kind of like saying: “I’m a big fan of Elizabethan drama, but I never got around to reading anything by that Shakespeare guy. He any good?”

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

