Belated Readathon

Dead White Guys is having a belated 24 hour read-a-thon this weekend. I haven’t really accomplished much so far. I think my problem is that I am not sure what I’m in the mood for at the moment. The Night Circus left me in one of those states where I’m at a loss to decide what kind of book could possibly follow it in awesome, but alas I must read something or I shall never know. Unless I want to reread, but I would really like to chisel more into my TBR pile before visiting something I’ve already read again.

The first book I read and finished during this event was something I had already started reading. I had acquired a bargain priced Nancy Drew mystery from a big-chain bookstore a couple of months ago. Yes, I know that these books are hopelessly old fashioned and outdated, but they’re tokens of childhood nostalgia when my love for reading really took off. This book was Nancy’s Mysterious Letter. Yes, these books have the predictable happy ending where Nancy solves the case and saves the day, but sometimes this isn’t a bad thing.

I’m only a few chapters in the book I am reading now. Don’t ask me why I decided to read an X-Files novel. These were my reading crack in high school. I never paid attention in the Current Affairs class because I always had my nose buried in these books yet somehow I still pulled A’s on everything. Somehow I missed Skin though. I found this selling cheap in one of the dollar stores over the summer and again nostalgia took over. I confess that I had a crush on Fox Mulder back in the day. It’s unclear whether or not I’ll be able to finish this book in the time frame. I’m afraid I could get distracted having a new kitten around.

Is anyone else participating? How are you doing in your reading this weekend?

4 thoughts on “Belated Readathon

  1. Oh there you are! I looked for you earlier too. πŸ™‚ I read (and re-read) for nostalgic reasons regularly. And I can certainly relate to the “what next” feeling after a really good read. It’s almost not fair to the “next book”, y’know? Happy read-a-thon-ing!

    • I think these books should act as nice buffers because I didn’t expect them to be fantastic reads anyway. Although I’m interested to discover if my next great read resides in all those unfinished books sitting on my shelf. I shall keep reading on!

  2. I love Nancy Drew simply because it is so outdated.

    I did very little reading this weekend. Instead I ran about like a mad woman getting all my Christmas shopping done.

    Congrats on the new kitten.

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

