Blogs Gone Bad Week: Sean Bean

Gladiator’s Pen

As much as I hate to admit it, Sean Bean is the epitome of the typecasted actor. How often do you see him playing in the role that is other than villainous? However, with this comes the fact that the man is a walking spoiler (if I can borrow a phrase from a Game of Thrones parody). The only movie I can think of off-hand where he’s a bit of a bad boy and doesn’t die is National Treasure.

My first serious exposure to his acting (at least that wasn’t overshadowed by a horse) was when he played Lord Fenton in the miniseries adaptation of Alexandra Ripley’s Scarlett. It’s been so long since I read the novel that I can’t really comment on the character in that version, but Fenton in the film seems to inspire a mixture of attraction and revulsion. Maybe that’s a staple of most baddies?

Although it wasn’t that long ago where I went on some kind of insane binge for Sean Bean films that I hadn’t seen, which was frankly quite a lot. I ordered them all from the library’s loan system and in my fervor my next trip to the library involved me picking up 20 movies on DVD and VHS (but that’s not to say that I ended up watching them all). Some of them I wish I had not watched. Brain cells committed suicide from the absolute horror of some films. Others I fast-forwarded to see if he made it, or stopped altogether once he died because there wasn’t anything else to keep my interest. Like Essex Boys.

Yet there was one movie that keeps the viewer guessing and I highly recommend it. If you can get Extremely Dangerous, watch it! It offers a wonderful spectrum of the man’s acting abilities. I wouldn’t mind owning that on VHS or DVD. (Yes, I still love my VCR.)

You know what my problem with the “ending too terrifying for theaters” of The Hitcher is? This is going to be spoiler, or perhaps not so much considering whom we are talking about on this post. Okay, if you’ve seen the regular ending of the film you know he dies. He always dies, you think it would get old after awhile. The girl shoots him in the face. Now this alternate ending that is supposed to be so much scarier merely shows her killing him by beating his head in with the shotgun once their bullets run out in their respective pieces. How is this supposed to be so terrifying? Is it because the general public can’t conceive of a woman engaging or enjoying such savage brutality, even against such a vile individual that Bean does a great job portraying? Perhaps I have been spoiled on horror movies with the cliche of allowing the villain to not really die, but come back for one more scare before cutting off what happens next for the closing credits. I think allowing the serial killer to live would have made for a more terrifying ending. Not for me, but as a general rule to most people.

And if anyone even dares to call Boromir a villain I have the following to say to you: GET THE HELL AWAY FROM MY BLOG!!!

5 thoughts on “Blogs Gone Bad Week: Sean Bean

  1. LOL I was wondering if you were considering Boromir a villain or not. I like Bean as an actor but admittedly have only seen him in National Treasure, LOTR, and Games of Thrones…so I didn’t realize he would die in Games of Thrones since I hadn’t read the book at the time…not did I know he dies in most of his movies!

  2. This comment is late, I know, but I wondered if you knew about Sean Bean’s performance as Richard Sharpe in the TV shows based on Bernard Cornwell’s books. He’s a loose cannon, but he’s NEVER a villain. I really liked the shows, even though historical stuff isn’t usually my thing.

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

