Library Loot: The Mythology Edition


Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!

I picked up a few books on the trip to the library this weekend. I’m excited to start reading them, but I am determined to finish Zelda before I begin something new. It’s been a book that I have taken my time reading and thinking about as I do.

I’m on a mythology binge if you could not tell. It should be interesting to read a Gaiman novel other than The Graveyard Book. I am entertained by reading his blog, but I really need to read more of his books. I was reading some reviews of Giants of the Frost so I have an idea of what to expect as far as what type of story it is. And it does have a rather pretty cover, don’t you think? I was afraid that The Children of Odin was one of those 50 pages or less children’s books, but that does not seem to be the case. My present addiction to the Norse myths makes me very excited for Rick Riordan’s upcoming series. Don’t get me wrong, I like The Heroes of Olympus books, but I’m all excited for a new pantheon.

I seen this book last year when I was at the Borders going out of business sale, but I was unsure about buying it. I have had it on my library list for future requests for a long time, but I decided to get the audiobook of it. As much as I like my new pop music CD, I’m tired of listening to it in the car.

So what did you get from the library, my freaky darlings?

8 thoughts on “Library Loot: The Mythology Edition

  1. My favorite of Gaiman’s, besides Sandman, was Neverwhere. Loved that one. I didn’t hit the library this week but I did get to the used bookstore and found some fun things. Fire by Robin McKinley and her husband, Changes, a JIm Butcher book I was looking for and the first two books of the Gentlemen Bastard series. It was a good day.

  2. I absolutely love Neil Gaiman, he’s so incredibly imaginative! I second ocdreader on ‘Neverwhere’ being one of my favourites. Another book I quite liked was ‘Good Omens’ which he wrote with Terry Pratchett.

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

