Random Book Love

I am plotting another purge of my bookshelves where those poor unfortunate souls that do not rank as favorites or really good reads will find themselves on their way to a new home. Perhaps at this rate my reference books will see themselves equal to pleasure reading for a change.

One of the books that I refuse to part with is Bram Stoker’s The Jewel of Seven Stars. It’s kind of amusing that I never even heard of this book until a few years ago during a routine browsing of the shelves at Borders with the notion of acquiring something new for my TBR pile because I surely didn’t have enough to read. I didn’t always find myself in the horror section, but I wanted that book. All it took to sell me on that point was the fact that it was about Egyptology.

Before giving in to temptation and buying this book, the only experience I had with Bram Stoker was through the obvious choice Dracula. While I didn’t love Stoker’s ode to bloodsuckers, I liked it. However, nothing prepared me for how I was sucked into The Jewel of Seven Stars! I remember that I found it difficult to put the book down. Sometimes I would lay on my bed (which was my favorite spot to read at the time) and just keep reading certain passages. I purposely took longer than necessary to finish it because I didn’t want it to be over.

It’s been almost three years since I last picked up this novel. My unreliable memory makes it impossible to recall all the details that I could impress upon you regarding just why I enjoyed this book so much. The experience has become more emotional than rational until I find the time to visit this novel’s pages once again. When it comes time to reread books labeled as “favorites” for a second time, this title will be very high on the list.

2 thoughts on “Random Book Love

  1. I’d never heard of this book, but a quick look at amazon confirmed that I HAD to have it – especially since I could get a Kindle edition for free. Thanks for bringing this to my attention. The next time I have a hankering for a little Egyptology, I give it go.

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

