24 Hours to Read or Die

Too much anime is the only explanation for my mental problems.

It’s that time of year again! The 24 Hour Read-a-Thon! I didn’t get a whole lot accomplished in the last event back in October, but I aim to do better this time around. I won’t be going off to offline social website gatherings with my friends. (Although I did get that pretty edition of Jane Eyre so I guess it wasn’t a total waste.) I’ve spent far too much time reading books from the library for April so it’s time to tackle my own books on the shelf! And Runelight arrived in the mail so there’s further temptation to deviate from my April goals!

The books I aim to be reading for this weekend’s event are the following:
The Diary of a Young Girl – Anne Frank
How the Irish Saved Civilization – Thomas Cahill
This Side of Paradise – F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Man Who Created Sherlock Holmes – Andrew Lycett
The Wolf King – Alice Borchardt
Scarlet – Stephen R. Lawhead
Imperium – Robert Harris

Fitzgerald is an e-book so I should give my e-reader some much needed attention, I think. Imperium is a book that I borrowed from a friend last year and still haven’t read, so I really need to get on it and return the book to her. Will I keep to these books? I don’t know. It’s entirely possible that I get distracted. I added several more than I originally planned in case I find I accomplish more reading than expected. Anyway I’ve decided that I’m going to use this post as my collective for all updates for this year’s event instead of several after so many hours go by. Be sure to check back if you want to know how things are progressing.

Good luck to all my fellow readers during the next 24 hours! Keep calm and read on!

UPDATE HOUR 4 OUT OF 24

I have done good to keep from being distracted during the beginning of the readathon. I had a novel unfinished when I started so I felt it important to complete The Sherlockian before moving on to the titles on my above list. Now it’s done. Since taking time out of the readathon to write book reviews would cut down on my time accomplishing progress outside of these blog updates I kept one of my notebooks beside me to jot down thoughts as I read for easier recollection when it came time to actually compose a review. I rather like this notion so I might be employing it in the future to see if I can improve my reviews on this blog.

So what’s next on the list to mark off? I think that I might work on reading How the Irish Saved Civilization. It’s the smallest volume of the stack of books resting by my reading chair and I think I feel up for a bit of non-fiction.

UPDATE HOUR 6.5 OUT OF 24

I’m halfway through How the Irish Saved Civilization, but I’m feeling a little hungry and there are two slices of Pizza Hut pan with black olives left from last night’s dining out. Perfect way to recharge. I’ve been feeling kind of sleepy with such long periods of reading. It’s been so long since I read for such an extended amount of time. I’ve been reading so much fiction over the past few years that I sometimes forget how much I like reading non-fiction. I seriously need to read more classical literature… you know, that’s not Homer.

Anyway I hope that everyone is doing well on their books for the readathon.

UPDATE HOUR 10 OUT OF 24

So far my list of finished books are:
The Sherlockian – Graham Moore
How the Irish Saved Civilization – Thomas Cahill

So I’ve already done better than last October! I’ve had a few more breaks than I planned. The cat was meowing pathetically so she needed to be coddled that I wasn’t ignoring her for the sake of books. Next up is Imperium by Robert Harris. I’ve read one of his books before so it should be interesting to peruse another. And I can finally return it to my friend!

Oh, I would like to do one little mini-challenge I found over at The Fake Steph:

For this mini-challenge, I want you to tell me about your favorite unlikely hero, troublemaker, or anti-hero. Recommend some books with some shady characters and tell me why you love them!

I rather fell in love with the exploits of Loki when reading The Norse Myths by Kevin Crossly-Holland. I like Padriac Collum’s assessment of him as “the doer of good and the doer of evil” in his version of the myths The Children of Odin. Loki makes things interesting and one of new favorite books is Runemarks that continues that assessment.

UPDATE HOUR 13 OUT OF 24

I confess I abandoned Imperium. I didn’t much care for the writing or the pace. No point in forcing myself to read something not working for me, right? I thought to read a few chapters from Scarlet, but I just wasn’t in the mood for this particular book right now. I feel like a classic and since I have been wanting to read more Scott Fitzgerald it was time to fire up the e-reader and start on This Side of Paradise! I am one-fourth of the way through it right now. My boyfriend came in to where I was reading and commented on how two actors I fancied both played the role of Fitzgerald in films that I happen to own. Oh, the urge to watch Midnight in Paris is strong…! But I wanted to get reading done this weekend that I’ve been putting off too long. If I finish two more books I can treat myself to another book to buy and it seems perfect that it would be coinciding with the release of The Serpent’s Shadow, book 3 in the Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan.

Dewey’s Read-a-Thon Survey:

1) How are you doing? Sleepy? Are your eyes tired?
I was more sleepy earlier. I think I’m just hungry now and there’s not much to eat in the house except for pop tarts.

2) What have you finished reading?
The Sherlockian by Graham Moore
How the Irish Saved Civilization by Thomas Cahill

3) What is your favorite read so far?
I wouldn’t really call either a favorite as they both rank an average ranking to me.

4) What about your favorite snacks?
Pizza Hut leftovers

5) Have you found any new blogs through the readathon? If so, give them some love!
Sadly I haven’t done much hopping among the blogs as I’ve been trying to focus on reading. I’ve mostly been visiting the blogs that comment here on this post when I pop on to post updates regarding my own progress.

Read on!

UPDATE HOUR 15 OUT OF 24

I’m still reading This Side of Paradise, but I’m getting tired and I think I’m going to call it a night. Yet I’m glad that I got some reading done during the event. If I wake up with time still available, I might try to squeeze in one more book, still I’m pleased if all I’ve completed were two books. Nothing to sneeze at for a day’s accomplishments.

6 thoughts on “24 Hours to Read or Die

  1. You have a great list of books on your TBR pile. I hope reading is going well. It’s okay if you get distracted. Try a mini-challenge or read other readers blog posts. The important thing is to have fun! Happy Reading! –your friendly read-a-thon cheerleader Janel

    • Thank you! Perhaps I just might do that. I have just finished one book so far and am eager to move on to another. I will look up the mini-challenges when I have a break to remember to eat this afternoon, hehe!

  2. Yay for already beating out last October already. Don’t worry about taking those breaks, sometimes it helps to have a few breathers – keeps you from getting too tired!

    Keep up the great reading! =D

  3. I’m having a hard time staying focused on my reading so I’m hopping around a lot right now. Sounds like you’re doing a much better job staying focused. Keep up the good work!

  4. Wow, 2 books in a day is an accomplishment. I was following tweet updates from goodbooksandgoodwine.com. She was up to 8 books but they were mostly under 300 pages each. Reading your updates have increased my enthusiasm to participate next Read-a-thon. Hopefully I can remember.

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

