Special for Sundays

Special for Sundays is a weekly feature hosted by Gabbing About Books and In Which Ems Reviews Books. Each week will rotate to a different topic of discussion.

4th Sunday: A book on your TBR list, why you picked it, and when do you hope to read it

I’ve had this book for a few years now. I’m a Tolkien fan so it would be odd if I didn’t select it to read at some point, right? I had thought to read it last year along with my History of Middle-Earth series, but I’ve gotten to the point where I want to save all my Tolkien books for last in my quest to decimate my TBR pile. It’s my intend to read all those other books I got for very cheap or ones I have forgotten why I bought them because I imagine I could free up some shelf space. I know I won’t part with my Tolkien books and I don’t want to feel overwhelmed by other books that need to be read while I’m leafing through the pages so there’s no rush on it. I doubt I will get around to Letters for this year unless I get some major reading done in the next eight months, but it might be something to look forward to for 2013.

4 thoughts on “Special for Sundays

  1. Interesting, might be something to look into at some point when my TBR mountain declines a bit! I have to go through some of my books as I found some that I have on goodreads that I may not want to read now, which might help with the mountain.

    I am so glad you joined in this week!!

  2. I know some people read straight through this. I never have. I have referenced it, using the index to find topics of interest, and I have sat down and read a few random letters at a time. I love Tolkien, but I think this is better, as I would probably get bored during an attempt to plow straight through it. The end result, however, is that I have not actually read all of it.

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

