Special for Sundays

Special for Sundays is a weekly feature hosted by Gabbing About Books and In Which Ems Reviews Books. Each week will rotate to a different topic of discussion.

1st Sunday: One of your Favorite Books and why is it so special to you

I had never heard of The Scarlet Pimpernel until I seen it in stores where there was a display case with prettily bound hardcovers for classic books. Naturally there was no description so I took a leap of faith and guess what? I loved it! Orczy’s prose style has me flailing as though I’m watching Gerard Butler singing covers to The Doors. I feel that I must admit I didn’t have much interest in the French Revolution until I read this book. The characters were perfectly delightful. And what Percy does when his wife leaves to demonstrate his love?! Sir Percy Blakeney is definitely one of my favorite literary heroes ever! Do you want to know something else? Chauvelin is one of my favorite literary villains ever too. It’s been so long since I last read this book… I really must stop neglecting my favorites.

I would love to see the musical production of The Scarlet Pimpernel. Listening to Terrance Mann sing “Falcon in the Dive” leaves me near to swooning.

5 thoughts on “Special for Sundays

  1. I LOVE this book. I thought I loved the film, but when I read the book, I loved it MORE. It’s so amazing!

    Thanks for participating!
    Ems

    • Not quite that many. *lol* That demmed elusive Pimpernel inspired Zorro and Batman if I remember correctly. I don’t expect everyone to love my favorite books as much as I do, so no worries.

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

