Special for Sundays

Special for Sundays is a weekly feature hosted by Gabbing About Books and In Which Ems Reviews Books. Each week will rotate to a different topic of discussion.


3rd Sunday: One of your Favorite Authors and why you pick their books up again and again

It would be wrong on so many levels for me to do this week’s topic without talking about Professor Tolkien.  The man has created One Fandom to Rule Them All, am I right?  Tolkien spent his entire life creating a mythology and I for one cannot get enough of it.  Before you say anything I do own the documentary film Ringers: Lord of the Fans.   Why do I keep coming back?  I’m not quite sure myself.  The Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit, and The Silmarillion have grand epic adventures, but the stories show the best and worst that is possible in people and what consequences their choices have on the rest of the world.  Even though some of the stories might seem like everything is alright in the end, there’s still a tragic price that was paid to achieve that outcome.

He was dedicated to his world and his wife was his Luthien.  Gah, make the romantic feels stop! I can’t take it!

5 thoughts on “Special for Sundays

  1. I’ll have to check out this meme, it looks like a lot of fun.

    I appreciate Tolkein’s work and think he was a genius when it came to imagination and creation/world-building. Don’t hate me for admitting that I don’t exactly love his writing style though….

    • There are some writers that I feel that way about so no worries. I’m not rabid enough to bite your head off . . . unless you claim that Boromir is a villain and then we must have words, my friend!

      I keep meaning to participate in this meme more but there are times when I just don’t know what to say.

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

