Review: The Cat Who Went to Paris

TITLE: The Cat Who Went to Paris
AUTHOR: Peter Gethers
PUBLICATION: 1991 by Crown Publishers, Inc.
FORMAT: Hardcover

BOOK SYNOPSIS

Before Peter Gethers met Norton, the publisher, screenwriter, and author was a confirmed cat-hater. Then everything changed. Peter opened his heart to the Scottish Fold kitten and their adventures to Paris, Fire Island, and in the subways of Manhattan took on the color of legend and mutual love. THE CAT WHO WENT TO PARIS proves that sometimes all it takes is paws and personality to change a life.

WHAT I THOUGHT ABOUT IT . . .

When I was looking for cat books on the ILL catalog, I was only half interested in adding this title to the list.  I thought I might have had too many and that would distract from reading my own books this past month.  To date it is the only library book that I have finished in May.

If I was asked to describe this book in one word it would most certainly have to be funny. I laughed. A lot. I laughed so much that my boyfriend, who was sitting beside me playing Skyrim, pulled himself away from gaming long enough to make a comment about my frequent reactions to it. This isn’t a very long book, it doesn’t even go past the 200 pages mark, but it does work it’s magic to charm the reader into loving Norton just as much as Gethers does. (Since seeing Scottish fold cats on that program Cats 101, I’ve thought they were an adorable breed.)

I am embarrassed though because I must admit I did not get a lot of the references that were mentioned in this book. This could be attributed to several reasons. Although when Roman Polanski was mentioned I did perk up a little at that because I wrote a paper on him complete with a film review for Introduction to Films. There was a moment where it was interesting to read someone’s take on the man behind the controversy, but it was very brief because the book is about the man’s cat and not all the people he’s met in his career as a workaholic. Thank Andraste.

It’s not all fun and games though because of the scene with the homeless woman. This was the only really sad part of the entire book outside of the death of Gethers’s father at the end.

There seem to be a lot of cat books on the shelves. I haven’t read them all, but from the small sampling that I have engaged I would recommend The Cat Who Went to Paris as one of the better ones that you can find. Better than that Dewey book about the library cat that everyone seems to rave on. If you like cats this book is for you. If you like to laugh this book is for you. Needless to say I enjoyed myself reading about Norton.

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

