The Seven Deadly Sins of Reading

I found these questions on Tumblr when I wasn’t staring at the life ruiner, and I thought that they would be fun to post on this blog.

GREED: What is your most expensive book? What is your least expensive book?

I think my most expensive book would be The Children of Hurin audiobook.  Even with my store credit and the discount I still paid over $40 for it.  My least expensive book is a history of the American Civil War that I found in a used bookshop for fifty cents.

WRATH: Which author do you have a love-hate relationship with?

Maybe Stephen King should go for this since I have read enough of his work to the point where I can say what I love and hate.

GLUTTONY: Which book have you deliciously devoured over and over again with no shame whatsoever?

It’s been awhile since my TBR pile hasn’t been the center of my reading experience.  However, I have read The Diary of Ellen Rimbauer: My Life at Rose Red multiple times and enjoyed every moment of it.

SLOTH: What book have you neglected to read due to laziness?

I’ve had the Little House series for twenty years and not read them all so I would say they are a perfect candidate for this answer.  I don’t know why I haven’t read the rest of the books that we didn’t read in school.  I did read Farmer Boy last year in an effort to not be lazy.  Still I want to reread the first two before I continue the rest because I think it would get me in the mood and it’s hard to remember stuff read to you in second grade.

PRIDE: What book do you most talk about in order to sound like a very intellectual reader?

I guess that choice would fall to Lolita.  I did a research paper for Abnormal Psychology on Humbert’s particular disorder so perhaps that makes me more qualified to sound intellectual when discussing it.

LUST: What attributes do you find most attractive in male or female characters?

I like characters that rely on their wits as much as their brawn, those who defend the weak and abused, and… okay I really don’t know what all I like in characters. There are different circumstances.  Traits I like in one do not necessarily mean that  I’ll like another character with similar attributes.  I suppose it all comes down to a writer’s talents in making me feel for their creations.

ENVY: What books would you most like to receive as a gift?

The Silmarillion as a leatherbound hardcover, Easton Press edition.  The red leatherbound edition of The Lord of the RingsThe War of the Jewels and The Peoples of Middle-Earth in the History of Middle-Earth series.

6 thoughts on “The Seven Deadly Sins of Reading

  1. What a great meme! I always avoid talking about Lolita as I read it and enjoyed it, but know much of the references to other literature went over my head. When I want to sound smart I talk about the Oedipal complex in Hamlet as that’s what I studied for my English Lit A-Level.

    • I dug out an old film review I did years ago and read to my boyfriend, lamenting the fact that I can’t write that well for everything I review, even books. He said it was because I knew the subject in detail and could draw upon my knowledge of it. I suppose that he is correct… but now that just means I need to become more knowledgeable about everything!

  2. This is one of my favorite posts of yours!! And also, did you know there’s a series of dictionaries for each of the Big 7? Woo! I only have one so far, but what an awesome idea for writers. I plan to collect them all, mwahahaha!

    I gave a copy of the Silmarillion to my ex, who is a huge Tolkien fan also. He loved it. It was a big hardcover I found at the library, I think 15 0r 20 years old.

    This survey is very personal, kudos to you for being brave enough to bare your intellectual soul. 🙂 Good thing you’re a smart cookie! Hee.

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

