TBR Intervention (1) + Library Loot


TBR Intervention is a weekly challenge hosted by April @ Books4Juliet, Dani @ Refracted Light and Ayanami @ Whatever You Can Still Betray. The goal is to commit to reading at least one book that has been languishing on your TBR pile in an effort to conquer the mountain.

Due to the overriding fear that I will have too many memes popping up on my blog, I would like to do this as a two weeks goal instead of every Saturday.

THE BOOK(S) I COMMIT TO READ:
Since I have a few library books checked out I am only going to be committing to one. I was less than thrilled with Night of the Wolf, giving up after the effort of 150 pages. So I am hoping this will be better as a direct sequel to The Silver Wolf.  I imagine that the inclusion of my favorite female protagonist will make this an easier book to devour.

I am almost done with From Reverence to Rape so I didn’t really think I should include that on here because it is a sure thing.

 

 

 


Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire from The Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries!


The Postmistress I have already mentioned in a previous entry, but needless to say I am excited to read it once I finish From Reverence to Rape. I had originally gotten Glamour in Glass without realizing it was a sequel to Shades of Milk and Honey, so I had to wait for the first book to come in.


Between Shades of Gray hit my radar when I browsing the articles at NPR’s website and came across one where the author was getting a lot of sales due to the confusion of readers thinking that they were getting the erotic novel that’s topping the bestseller’s list. And I am posting The Hurt Locker DVD on here because my love affair with Jeremy Renner in other films continues with no end in sight.

Dear reader, what are you committed to reading or have brought home from the library lately?

11 thoughts on “TBR Intervention (1) + Library Loot

  1. I read the Postmistress last year and enjoyed it. I hope you do too. I loved The Hurt Locker and do enjoy Jeremy Renner. He’s an excellent actor and a cutie too!

  2. Ok, I have a confession to make: I can’t remember the last time I went to the library. *gasp* I know it’s weird, because I love books so much, but for some reason, I’ve never been all that big on going to the library. I love it when I’m there…. but I guess I kind of forget about it when I’m not there, haha. I do spend a lot of time at Bookman’s, though.

    -Tia

    • Le gasp! I guess I’ve always been something of a permanent fixture at the library, but lately I go more often because I’d rather try out books before I commit to buying them. I confess I experience a certain amount of guilt with the desire to reread books on my shelves and I see a lot of new books I bought that still are not finished. So more visits to the library is my attempt of curbing the insane book buying binges this year. And I slowly chew through that TBR mountain in the meantime.

      • Well that definitely makes sense. Our library tends not to have a huge selection of books. (ok, that’s not entirely true. I should say “books that I’m not interested in” haha)

        However, I do have a friend who owns practically every book I’ve ever heard of and probably will hear of, so she’s pretty much my library, haha. She comes in quite handy, I’m so thankful to know her!

        -Tia

  3. Welcome to TBR Intervention! 🙂 I hadn’t heard of Alice Borchardt before, so I went to check out the series, and it sounds fascinating — mixing history with the paranormal. I’m sorry the second book didn’t quite live up to your expectations and I hope The Wolf King is a much better book in this series for you. Good luck this week!

  4. I was actually very surprised by the title similarities of Between Shades of Gray and 50 Shades of Gray, particularly since one is a teen novel. I’m sure that could lead to some awkward purchases! And I only very recently really paid attention to Between Shades of Gray, but now I think it sounds quite interesting!

  5. The Postmistress sounds really interesting – I have no idea how I missed that. (I was not as successful as you were at resisting the Borders liquidation sales … and all the books I bought are still languishing on my bookshelves. Except for the cookbooks. Those I use.)

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

