Supernatural

This blog is being interrupted from its usual literary endeavors to bring an update on my quest to watch a series that I mentioned awhile back on here. Spoiler warning (although it’s probably not necessary since I must be the last person to watch the show). I’ve been watching season six of Supernatural. Netflix only has up to six so I will have to wait to see season seven. My boyfriend has asked me throughout my quest to view this series on the instant streaming option if I was planning on buying the series. My earlier responses were cautious; I wanted to see more of the show to determine if it was worth it to invest in something that long. Now I reply that I do not wish to own them. I can just watch the show on Netflix if I feel the need for a fix.

If the show was still as good as the first couple of seasons, I would have probably considered buying the show for my own collection because I really liked the beginning. It seems like my liking for it has gone downhill since the storyline started the Apocalypse turn. Although I pretty much adore Castiel. Well, it kind of took an indifferent turn before that but I think I know the reasons.

The writers (or whoever decides the direction of the storyline) would have done better to draw out the events of the first season or so. Personally I think that the search for their father should have extended into season two if not the second season’s finale. It wasn’t really enough of a tease. Even the big Apocalypse lasted only one season… really? (Yu Yu Hakusho and the Dark Tournament saga lasted two seasons.) I think there was a great opportunity to do more with that idea. And it was easier to defeat Lucifer than ol’ Yellow Eyes. Doesn’t that seem a bit skewed? (Although I will credit Death, the pale Horseman, as having the coolest entrance song here.)

As far as character development goes I liked it better when Sam didn’t have his soul as opposed to his behavior involving the demon powers and drinking the blood. And constant apology mode was so annoying. And I’m not quite sure why the one night stand and her kid became such an important part of Dean’s chance for happiness. I would have figured the girl he had the past with in the episode about the phantom truck that was running everyone down on the highway would have been a more suitable candidate on his list of conquests.

I can handle a lot of things but the whole prophet angle with the Supernatural series of books? And the boys being thrown into a Twilight Zone where they are the stars of a television show called Supernatural? Seriously? It’s stuff like this that makes me want to not like you at all. And the fact that no one important truly dies to stay dead (except for perhaps John and Mary Winchester) might have something to do with part of the disenchantment. There’s no fear of being parted from these characters because they always find a way to get around something. And nothing seems all terrible or cosmic as it should be compared to weak human beings. I’m surprised that Death did Dean such a favor. You would think that the idea of mere mortals going up against powerful forces would be right up my alley considering that Yuri’s nickname in Shadow Hearts 2 is Godslayer… but the concept seems to work better for me in the land of RPGs rather than television that really just doesn’t know when to quit.

So in true train wreck fashion, I would still watch season seven. Although I confess that I really want to see that episode with Dean dressed up like a Prohibition era gangster. It’s the clothes. And the hat. I’m having a Cheshire moment of admiring the hat.

I will still get the anime series through their DVD services for comparison purposes. It’ll be nice and short. I’m going to need something short after 126 episodes. Okay, enough rambling. Five episodes left!

Dear reader, won't you share your thoughts?

